Crochet: Almost finished making squares for the granny square lap blanket

I’m finally at the point where I can see the end in sight for this project.  I have all the 6-round granny squares complete and 48 of the 82 3-round squares.  I did a colour check by organizing my 3-round squares by outer colour and then again by centre colour.  I discovered I’m a bit short of light-coloured third rounds (outside) and dark-coloured first rounds (centres).  I have now made all the first rounds for all the remaining 3-round squares and I made sure to include quite a few dark colours.  I have about 10 squares that have two rounds done and just need the final round.  So the remaining 34 squares are looking closer and closer to being done!  It also looks like I have enough of the right coloured yarn to finish the project.

Related posts:  Joining squares (for a link to the pattern and how I will be joining the crocheted squares), One crocheted blanket module complete, Crocheted blanket:  Are we there yet?, Crochet: Granny Square blanket progress (for a rough idea of the final pattern), Crochet:  At the music festival, crocheting in public, Crochet: A solution to squaring my granny squares, Crochet:  Mixed results overdyeing yarn for granny square borders, Crochet:  Granny square blanket – thank goodness for swatching

About fibercrush

A long-time fiber lover working with a wide range of techniques including quilting, embroidery, knitting, spinning, dyeing and weaving.
This entry was posted in Blanket, Crochet, Wool yarn and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Crochet: Almost finished making squares for the granny square lap blanket

  1. Pingback: Quilting, Stitching and Crochet: What I’m working on | Fibercrush

  2. kjwinston says:

    Oooh, pretty. I always think if I ever do crochet it’ll be for the granny squares. I really like your color choices, too.

  3. Christine Michalczuk says:

    What kind of yarn is that? It’s lovely. I’m wondering if I could get it here in the States.

    • fibercrush says:

      I’m sure you could get it. It’s needlepoint yarn. There`s a closeup picture of the yarn skeins in this post. The border was made from a larger skein (45 yds) of a similar weight of Made in Canada yarn which I don`t believe is made anymore. There`s a picture of that yarn in this post.

Leave a Comment

