Crochet: The Granny Square lap blanket is finished

My goodness, that took a while.  All those hundreds of ends to weave in after joining.  It’s finally done and just in time as we have snow flurries coming our way this evening!  This post has all the photos and, to satisfy my passion for numbers, all the statistics.

Here it is bordered, blocked and in all its final glory.  The image can be clicked on to see a 50% larger version.

This is the free pattern on Ravelry I used as my starting point but I made two sizes of squares rather than three.  I have a minor note on what I would try differently patternwise if I made something like this again on my Ravelry project page.

Here are the stats (with some slight rounding):

  • Finished size: 90cm x 115cm (35″ x 45″)
  • Finished weight:  760g (1 lb 11 oz)
  • Yarn composition:  100% wool
  • Amount of yarn (estimated from weight of blanket and skeins):  1250m (1350 yds)
  • Yarn characteristics (estimated):  1650 m/kg (810 yds/lb)
  • Yarn skein size (from skein wrapper):  8m (8.7 yds)

Here’s a sampling of the small DMC wool yarn skeins I used.

Here’s a peek the back.  I used the really blotchy pink yarn from my dye session to join the squares.  Those wool skeins were 45 yds each.

Of course, no project is complete without an inspection….

…and quality assurance!

Key related posts:  Joining squares (for a link to the pattern and how I joined the crocheted squares), Crochet:  Granny square blanket – thank goodness for swatching (the border I chose for the assembled blanket and shows seaming tension problems)

About fibercrush

A long-time fiber lover working with a wide range of techniques including quilting, embroidery, knitting, spinning, dyeing and weaving.
This entry was posted in Blanket, Crochet, Wool yarn and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Crochet: The Granny Square lap blanket is finished

  1. Congratulations on finishing. It looks absolutely beautiful and so wonderfully cozy and warm. Your cat is adorable by the way.

  2. Curls & Q says:

    Fabulous! The colors are to dye for! (NOTE: I’d like to dye yarn those colors) Love the two different size squares. Posted about the Reader Appreciation Award today. Thank you!

  3. kjwinston says:

    I just love this!!! If I ever crochet – and I just might, this is so inspiringly pretty – I am going to do this. Good on ya!

  4. The colors you chose are so beautiful and romantic–love it! I also am in the midst of a granny squares blanket, because you can take those squares anywhere!

  5. Lori says:

    Congratulations on the finish. It’s unbelievable. Is it really a blanket if an inspection and test drive is not completed? My cats didn’t think so either.

  6. Glad the ‘inspector’ gave this top marks! It looks beautiful … I found a whole pile of these skeins in a junk shop and used them for crochet too; the different shades are lovely, and you can change colours often! =D

  7. Janette says:

    Just beautiful!!

  8. Your colors are so subtle and elegant. Usually granny square afghans, God love them, are garish in the extreme. If I ever finish crocheting the lap blanket I started 22 years ago (it’s half done) I might think of starting this project.

    • fibercrush says:

      Thanks! I was trying for pinkish but not too pink! I found this was a lot of work even though it’s small. Good to work on while watching TV. I’m not sure I will ever tackle another one!

  9. Pingback: Stash-busting Knitting and Crocheting: Declaring done with the acrylic stash and some lessons | Fibercrush

  10. Heidi says:

    I love it, such beautiful colours – very inspirational!

  11. SaffronSkye says:

    This is amazing, I love it!

  12. Eleanor says:

    Beautiful blanket! And a very awesome quality inspector as well. 🙂

  13. Beverly says:

    very pretty. I like the color combination.

  14. Sierra Chase says:

    Love this

Leave a Comment

